top of page

Has someone felt absolutely worthless in companies like Infosys/TCS/Wipro/CTS?

This question really touched me. Why I felt worthless, let me tell you my background first.

First Phase.

Gold Medalist in Diploma in Computer Science(BIT, Mesra)

9 CGPA in B.Tech Information Technology(KIIT University)

My favorite subject is Java and did Certification(without dump) and did more than 10 projects during B.Tech in Java Only.

I have taken seminar on Red Hat, Android and in Java in various institute and colleges of Bhubaneshwar.

After this much of achievements, why did I join TCS:- I was dumbass, just bcoz my ex was joining TCS, I joined it too. And then she became Ex permanentaly.

Now, come to the main question.

TCS journey starts with ILP. In this ILP group is divided on the random basis. And they given me MainFrame group. Even though I have pretty much good knowledge in Java. I fought, told them they are going to ruin my career, and anyhow I won and took Java group.

At the end of ILP, I was top performer. First Phase over.

Second Phase.

After completion of ILP, I came to Pune and I was contacted by RMG(Resource Management Group) aka Dont bother about career they are just MBA’s who doesnt have any technical knowledge and they have no idea what are they doing. They told me to get a project and threatened me If I wont take it, I will have to face consequences. I had no choice, and my project was support based. And my work was Monitoring. In every 3 hour I had to click one button, that button will give desired result and had to mail them(all process took approx 2 hours). I could had surrendered and accepted my destiny, but I didnt. I was so low at that moment of my life, I was thinking I didnt sign up for this. I never did engineering for a task which can be done by matriculation student. Out of 22 working days in a month, I had 16 night shifts.

Third Phase.

Anyhow I wanted to come out of that gargbage career. I automated that complete system on my own. Written thousand and thousand lines of code without any supervision. Fetching data, filling excel sheet and mail, now it was taking only 4-5 minute.

It was great achievement for any fresher, and my work was recognized and I was shifted to development team. Then I started preparing for good company, because I was so fed up with TCS. Some policies of TCS or my Project still make me laugh:-

1) You have to bring your own cup to have cup of coffee, because my project cant afford a office boy for dishes.

2) Even though you were in the office for 16 hours, next day you will have to come on time and complete 9 hours.

3) When I had written first code from dev team, they made me do it 10 days work in 3 days, I didnt know what was the hurry and that code went for production after 8 months.

4) One more thing, I forgot to answer. I won 7 awards while in a service with great Tata group, and in return they awarded me 2 back to back “C” band(second lowest band after “D”). I dont know whether they failed to justify my work, or I was not enough to fulfill their expectation.

Forth Phase.

Today I am happily working for Oracle. And I am really happy here. My work has recognition and reputation. Getting good Job offers from companies like Amazon, Microsoft, Toughtworks VMWare (which I couldn't get from TCS) for a very good package which I can only dream from TCS.

Edit 1: Lot of people asked me in comments and in message, how did I prepare for product company, or did I get myself here. So here is the answer, what I did:

  1. First for any product company, your base should be strong or make it strong. (Base: Data Structure, Algorithm and One Programming Language.)

  2. I followed best coding website like(Geeksforgeeks, HackerRank, CareerCup).

  3. Do as many coding as you can. Never hesitate to experiment with your coding.

  4. And most important, never loose focus until you get there. Your girlfriend, fun and masti, movie, TV series, Gossip, weekend party can wait but opportunities cant.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page